Lindsey Olivares – Artist Interview

Briefly describe your creative background. Do you have any previous applications?

I’ve always loved to draw and imagined myself working as an artist or animator.  I didn’t understand how animation worked but I knew they were moving drawings, and that I really wanted to do that someday.  Growing up I was surrounded by passionate influences and a family who really supported the arts and drawing from your heart.  For college I moved to Florida to study Computer Animation at Ringling College of Art and Design.  After my second year at Ringling, I had the opportunity to intern at Walt Disney Animation Studios as a artistic intern focusing on character design.  My mentors really taught me a lot about character.  I learned that characters are more than shape language… you need to know who they are and create personalities and relationships with your designs.  Back at Ringling I really tried to incorporate what I had learned at Disney into my work.  I gained a stronger focus to grow as a visual development artist and storyteller.

Where do you find inspiration for your work?

I don’t do much to go out of my way to be creative and get inspired. Inspiration seems to happen on accident when you’re living life. It’s hard to plan. I guess for me it’s more about trying to see the artistic charm in our daily life experiences. My favorite ideas have come from personal experience, sometimes it’s a character, memory, or story message that rings true to me.   I’m inspired by my experiences, what I know, what I observe in life, and what I daydream of.

There’s so many inspiring artists out there but if I just name 5 that inspire me…Charles Harper, Norman Rockwell, Egon Schiele, Sterling Hundley, & Chris Ware.

What inspiration would you give to aspiring artists?

Remember why you’re an artist and enjoy becoming, growing, and experimenting as an artist.  Animation/Art is part technical skill, but so much from life.  Good animation, stories, and creativity have to come from an honest place.  I would tell aspiring artists to remember that art is fun and creative and that we are able to make things for people… so make things personal, give your work heart, and pull from your own unique experiences.

What current project(s) are you working on at DreamWorks? Elsewhere?

I’m currently working on art for Madagascar 3.

Where do you see yourself in 10-15 years?

Currently my greatest ambition is to make short films.  I recently finished my thesis film “Anchored” It was the greatest project I ever worked on.  Working on it was so stressful, exciting, and addicting.  I loved making my own film.  I’m craving to do more work like that in the future.  There’s so much you can do artistically and so much I want to do.  Right now I’m happy at DreamWorks and I’d love to grow within the company.  But I’d like to try a lot in my life, freelancing, traditional painting, teaching, and experimenting.  There are a lot of possibilities…but my greatest ambition right now is to just share my own stories with an audience, uplifting and inspiring people.

Be sure to visit my blog!

-Lindsey

Comments
2 Responses to “Lindsey Olivares – Artist Interview”
  1. Kailyn says:

    Nice! I’m 13 and I want to do animation too someday and I really like character’s personality.

    I think the best part is that you kind of feel like they’re your character drawling but you gotta know how they are to get a good image of them

  2. diego says:

    Very very beautiful art! inspired my day! cheers

Leave a comment

  • artists postings

    August 2010
    M T W T F S S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031