Bill Kaufmann – Artist Interview

personal_004_bk

Briefly describe your creative background. Do you have any previous applications? 

I studied in New York at The Art Students League and in Chicago at The American Academy of Art. While in New York I attended class with noted New York artist Harvey Dinnerstein and in Chicago with Irving Shapiro.

Where do you find inspiration for your work? Who are your 5 favorite artists?

I find inspiration by reading literature, traveling America  and  visiting other countries for inspirational locations.  The artists I admire are: Burt Silverman, Edgar Degas, Harvey Dinnerstein, Mary Cassatt and David Levine.

What inspiration would you give to aspiring artists?

Gather all the information on artists you admire and look closely for clues on the fundamentals of putting a piece together. Look for the positive aspects in your peers work and help each other to achieve artistic goals. Remember, we also learn from each other. Artists egos sometimes bruise easily, so go easy on yourself and others.

What current project(s) are you working on at DreamWorks? Elsewhere?

Currently, I am working in Visual Development on Kung Fu Panda 2.  I am also putting together work based on the fables and myths of Russia for an exhibit in Taos, New Mexico.

Where do you see yourself in 10-15 years?

Hopefully, with the training I have amassed here at Dreamworks, I’ll have a better understanding on how to integrate the worlds of animation and my personal art work. In order to grow as an artist, setting goals will help attain a deeper understanding of my view of the world around me.

Visit my blog here.

-Bill

Leave a Reply

  • artists postings

    September 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

